Postcard: Philadelphia

In the middle of my trip to New York, I stopped in Philly to see my friends Matt and Sally. I’ve never been to Philadelphia, home of the Liberty Bell, which I didn’t see.

Matt: “It’s about my height and it’s cracked. It’s not much, really.” (on the Liberty Bell).

I thought Philadelphia was pretty.

Trees in April.

Trees in April.

Matt: “That’s because we’re stopping through Bryn Mawr on the way home. Otherwise, you’d have seen the big dump. And the smoke stack.”
Other things we did: eat the crispiest Peking duck I’ve ever had, at Sangkee Duck House; Magic Gardens, which looked like Brautigan’s iDeath from In Watermelon Sugar; Go West craft market, which took place in a cemetery which leant it a slightly creepy vibe; get insulted by a Mainliner at White Dog; discuss whether winking is ever a good idea. Sally: “I don’t know. It’s mostly bad.” Matt: “No, never.” Me: “Winking is bad?”

Cemeteries are fun.

Cemeteries are fun.

I’ll admit probably my favorite thing in Philadelphia was Terrain, which was gorgeous, a fantasyland for leaf-lovers. It was as if you’d taken the Gardener (another favorite store of mine) and put a farm-to-table brunch spot and cafe right in the middle of it. Less crunchy though, and more Martha Stewart

Spring salad at Terrain.

Spring salad at Terrain.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

